4 Things That Set A Homesteader Apart On Christmas

Christmas in the country is beautiful. There is something about being so close to nature that makes the season sweeter for me. Naked trees, livestock hunkered down in the barn, fire in the fireplace made with wood you cut off your land. There are certainly some differences having Christmas on a homestead vs in the city. Here are a few of my favorite.

Giving Birth in a Barn

story-of-christmasnativity

Thinking about Mary giving birth in a barn and Jesus laying in a manger brings on a whole new meaning when you are scooping the poo and goo from the barn that animals are leaving there on a daily bases. I think Mary gets the “Super Woman Labor” award, hands down. Can you even imagine having contractions on a donkey? Giving birth in a barn? I think people have this pretty image of Mary lying on a clean pile of hay, while the animals look on in wonder. But if Bethlehem animals were anything like my animals, they would be pushing this lady, (that’s trying to push out a baby), right out of the way to get to their hay! This barn belongs to them! I don’t know how big that barn was, but every morning I come out to our barn and there is not a square inch that doesn’t have a plop of cow poop lying in the dirt. Mary was a trooper, a true mother, and a hero right from the start. I would love to think that all those animals in the barn were looking at Jesus laying in their manger of food with love and adoration, but reality says, He truly came to us in a lowly state, and most likely, had to fight the goats for His bed.

 

Amazon Prime

ups-driver-henry-mattingly-horiz-e0947efe303f6846

Amazon Prime is my best cyber friend. OK, so maybe this isn’t just a farm thing, but Amazon Prime has saved me countless long drives to town, through way too many traffic lights that just keep popping up with all the subdivisions that are going in around us. It has saved me valuable time that I don’t want to waste fighting the masses to get my simple shopping done. Besides, it would be so sad to not have multiple chats with our wonderful UPS driver! And when you know your UPS driver well enough to invite him to Christmas dinner, well, come on, it’s a good thing!

Barn Chores

1502550_10201320027143698_1101995669_n

Right after presents are open Christmas morning, you run out to the barn to do chores. There’s no day off for the homesteader. Our cows and chickens have no clue that it’s a holiday. It’s a day, like any other, and they expect to be promptly fed, like all days. I mean, come on, people! Feed us already!

Stocking Stuffers

sgwly9243_-00_white-blue_full_mens-work-gloves-latex-coated-y9243-by-wells-lamont.jpg

It just wouldn’t be Christmas without receiving something farm related in our stockings. Work gloves, ear plugs, udder balm, chainsaw tools, pliers, these are some staples for Preston and I. Along with some chocolate, of course. And do I roll my eyes and sigh? NO! A girl can never have too many pairs of work gloves!

I wouldn’t trade Christmas on the farm for anything.

 

 

One thought on “4 Things That Set A Homesteader Apart On Christmas

  1. OMGosh! A woman after my own heart! Forrest and I give practical gifts too. Some years ago he visited a farm store owned by a business contact he knows. None of the guys in the store could believe he was buying me Muck boots for my birthday. One guy said his wife would beat him if he bought her something like that for her birthday. Forrest said he KNEW I would be elated over them! And I was.
    I almost choked on my coffee reading about Mary having her baby in a barn!! Ha ha! I bet you are right about how people view that story. The reality of it was that it was a very humble and lowly place. I’m quite sure it was more like it is when we enter the barn – the animals think they’re getting fed and suddenly there are all of these snoops and “me firster’s” trying to get to the food they think has arrived. In my mind’s eye I’m seeing those “plops of poop” all over the floor… and maybe a ruckus of noise, and shuffling feet and hooves stirring up the dust. Too bad the bible doesn’t give humorous details about events like that. Maybe Mary should have written her own accounting of it!! ha ha

Leave a Reply

