Breathe

I’m the type of person who goes gun-hoe about things. I get excited, I see potential, I believe in something, and it’s full throttle ahead, no turning back, we’re going to do this, Baby! I say “Yes” before I think, then I figure out how to catch up with that yes. And sometimes I get so busy with all these yeses, that it’s everything I can do to keep going and I have to remind myself to breathe.

I know I’m not the only one out there. I know you are probly the same way.

Working a ranch, running a homestead, teaching classes, always starting more things from the to-do list than can possibly be completed, doing basic up keep on the farm and daily chores, keeping the yards and home tidy, teaching three kiddlings all the things they need to know to be successful in life, having time for my family, including my beautiful elderly Grandmother, and spending quality time with my Love, definitely leaves you worn rugged and exhausted at times.

I’m not complaining, please hear that. There is something here so wholesome, so satisfying, so very much a deep part of my soul, that no matter how tired I am at the end of each day, I always wake up ready to invite everything that comes the next morning.

There is something so fullfilling about the fruit of all this labor. Seeing things take place before your eyes, watching the ground produce at the work of your family’s hands. Blisters, calluses, cuts and bruises are a small price to pay.

Last month I basically took 2 weeks off of everything project and up-keep wise that could possibly be neglected without harming an animal or yield to tend to my Grandpa’s passing.

2 weeks seems like such a small little dent of time, but literally, it set me back so far that I am still feeling the repercussions of it. Little daily tasks like returning farm email, cleaning out the water troughs, and mowing, turn into monsters when neglected for anytime. All of a sudden everywhere you look there is something demanding your undivided attention.

And, I’m telling you, the animals seem to THRIVE on it! Last week alone, the milking cows chewed through a rope that was keeping a gate closed to a pasture I wanted to keep them off of so it could grow some good grass and recover from our last dry spell. The calves figured out they are escape artists and refused to be contained in the area I have always used to separate for share milking. We have 14 teenage chickens that absolutely believe that our garden is their heaven, and come hell or high water, they are going to eat it down to a nub. We have a resident rat…yes…that is devouring my eggs at all times of the day. We have a resident snake that is to full eating the mice in the feed room to worry about the rat that is eating my eggs. And then there’s Elvis, our buck, who is in full rut, (if you ever wondered where the saying came from “Horny as a goat”, wonder no more, because it came from a, well, a goat.), who has decided that I…yes I, dear mother who raised him tenderly, have fed him everyday of his extremely blessed life…am the love of his life. Every fiber of his body wants to show me just how much he loves me. I can’t go near his fence without an all out show of just how manly he is…in the most gross and vile male goat fashion. If you don’t know what that means, just look it up…or better yet, don’t. Ignorance really is kinda bliss on this subject.

So, now that you feel for me, I am happy to announce that for the first time in 5 years, we are loading up our family and taking a respite to the beach soon. I am SOOOO super blessed to have wonderful friends and family that have generously offered to stay on the ranch and take care of our homestead for us, while we pretend to be a normal family that takes normal vacations, and we play in the sand for 6 whole days. I plan on building big sand castles, catching big fish, reading amazing books to my children, toasting the waves at sunset, and laughing until it hurts to smile. Oh ya, and for six whole days I will not scrape cow poop off the bottom of my boots, I will not scrape unidentifiable things from under my fingernails, and I will not pick hay out of my bra.

 I guarantee by the end of the week I will be CRAVING doing all these things, will not be able to drive fast enough to get back to our home, and will likely give every single animal, maybe even Elvis, a kiss when we get back on this ground that we love so much.

One thought on “Breathe

  1. I totally relate to this post, especially the love of hard work. I’m driven, like you, and I find it the most rewarding job in the world… I call myself the ranch wench! I hope you enjoyed your time off, despite the ranch going out of control! You’ll catch up… we always do, don’t we?

Leave a Reply

