When life gives you too many eggs, make egg muffins.

For some reason, every spring, I am hit with an intense urge to buy more chicks. Right now we have 43 layers producing. I just told Preston last night that it was time to order 25 more. It’s spring! You can’t have spring without at least 25 baby chicks chirping away in the brooder! Besides, it’s just ritual to have to discuss things like “Should we get a new breed this year or stick with the same breeds we already have?

I think it’s comparable to some women walking into a shoe store. They just can’t buy one pair. But they need one pair of everything in every color. For me, shoes consist of work boots, dress boots, and running shoes, maybe a pair of flip flops for the road. But give me a chick book and an order form, now I’m excited!

 Needless to say, we have lots of eggs. Daily we bring in about 2.5 dozen. For those of you that are math challenged, that’s about 30 eggs a day.

 

What happens when you bring in thirty eggs a day? I can tell you precisely what you do when you bring in thirty eggs a day: You look for recipes that take a lot of eggs.

 So, a few weeks ago, a friend of mine at church gave me a fabulous egg-using recipe. Thank You Michaela, btw!

 I love this recipe so much that I had to share it with you. It is wondefully versatile, which I love because I never follow recipes when I cook. It’s always “a dash of this, a shake of that, Oh, let’s throw some of this in there because I need to get rid of it”.

If you are like me, then you will love this recipe, too.

If you are not, well, loosen up!

Try it!

It’s fun!

Kinda like science class in the kitchen.

Most of the time things turn out great, and, (again, if you’re like me), if they don’t turn out great they can always die by Death of Chicken Pecking and there will be no trace of evidence in about 15 secs.

 OK, here’s your base:

 12 eggs

 I’m liking this already

Now, to that you add whatever floats your boat.

 Here’s my favorite boat floater.

  •  A bunch of cilantro chopped up
  • About ½ cup of dice green chilies
  • 1 jalapeño diced
  • 1 red pepper
  • Left over beef, shredded
  • A couple handfuls of cheese
  • Salt, pepper, garlic, dashes of each.

Whisk it all up together.

 Preheat you oven to 400*

Spray a muffin pan with nonstick spray, or butter/coconut oil it.

Fill each muffin tin to the top

Bake for about 10 minutes, or until eggs are springy and set.

 Pull out of oven and let cool slightly.

 Pop them out of the muffin tins and enjoy!

If there are leftovers or you feel like making big batches, (just because you have 30 eggs a day that you need to find something to do with), then let them cool and then bag them in zip locks and freeze them. Then just pop out the bag and they make great quick breakfasts or snacks.

 My kiddlings eat these up! We love them!

8 thoughts on “When life gives you too many eggs, make egg muffins.

  1. If we lived closer, I’d buy some fresh eggs of you every week! Mark’s brother gives us a couple dozen each time he and Mark meet up to restock the honey supply in Seadrift. 🙂 Johnny’s our distributor down there. There’s not a better egg than the one that comes from your own chickens. Or your family’s. lol

  2. 30 eggs a day! Oh my! 🙂 I get 4-5 from our 5 chickens. We started with 6 but lost one to a hawk…tramatizing experience. 😉
    Again, loving exploring your beautiful blog!

  3. Made these this morning and everyone loved them. Thanks for the recipe! I have 24 new chicks that should start laying in another couple of months. Add those to the layers I have (and the crazy hens that decided to come out of retirement!) and I’m going to have more eggs than I know what to do with.

Leave a Reply

