Almond Butter Granola-Just Plain Ol’ Good Stuff!

I have been making our own granola for years and years now. It’s the most wonderfully versatile thing you can add to your pantry, super yummy and anyone can make it. I promise.

Here’s the base ingredients:

10 cups Rolled Oats
1 cup Honey
1 cup Coconut Oil

Mix this well and spread on a baking sheet. Bake at 400* for about 5 minutes. Remove from oven, stir, bake for another 5 minutes. Keep doing this until it’s all nice a toasted light brown. I usually stir mine about 3-4 times.

Let it cool and your ready to eat!

To this recipe you can ad as many things as you want.
Nuts, dried fruit, shredded coconut, whey powder, nut butters, the list goes as far as your imagination will let it.

I’ve tried lots of things. Most turn out wonderful, others….not so much.

These are some keys I have learned: If it falls in the nut family, including coconut, bake it with the oats. Everything else stays out until after the baking and is added in when cool.

Here’s my new favorite variety.

Almond Butter Granola

10 cups Rolled Oats
1 cup Almonds
1 cup Pecans
1 cup shredded coconut

Mix all these things up real well in a big bowl.

1 cup Coconut Oil (I use Organic Virgin, it’s just great stuff!)
1 cup Honey (Raw is best!)
1 cup Almond Butter

In a small pot, heat these two together just until well blended and coconut oil is melted.

Pour oil/honey/butter combo over dry ingredients and mix very, very, very well. Make sure that everything is well coated and there are no dry spots left in the bowl.

Now, spread this mixture on a couple of big baking sheets, pop in the oven at 400* and bake for 5 minutes. Take out and stir well, and pop back in. Do this till it’s brown all over.

While it’s cooking I get my dried fruit ready.

This time I used about 2 cups of dried figs.

I take my figs; pour them into the food processor with a chopping blade attached. Pulse them until they are fine, but not paste.

Now, once everything has cooled, I’m ready to mix in the fruit and package it for the pantry.

I have an abundance of 1/2 gallon mason jars. We originally bought them to put our milk in, and they have been wonderful in that way, but I have found a thousand other uses for them as well!
Like Granola!
But you can just use a gallon baggie, or whatever you have on hand that fits.

I ad my fruit to the jars

Then fill it up with the fresh granola.

Give it a good shake, (this is a great kid job)

Put a lid on it and in the pantry it goes.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Almond Butter Granola-Just Plain Ol’ Good Stuff!

Leave a Reply

